Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Sampling Beauty #5

1 Comment

This Sampling Beauty post covers June and July selections as, with a holiday and a house move, I didn’t get around to trying most of these products until August.

A few of my favoured brands – Caudalie and Nuxe – are highlighted in this post but I’ve tried and reviewed some products from their ranges that I hadn’t used before.

Read on for my thoughts on my latest samples…

Love Me Beauty – June love me beauty, sampling beauty, beauty review, perricone md, caudalie, nuxe, beauty reviewCaudalie Moisturising Mask – this mask is basically just a thick face cream and it even says you can “remove excess after 15 minutes or leave it on all night”. I’m not sure I want to go to bed with cream still waiting to absorb on my face so I went down the ‘remove excess’ route. My skin is pretty soft anyway so I didn’t notice much of a difference but I think if you’re particularly prone to dry skin then this would help.

Caudalie Nourishing Body Lotion – this silky but non-greasy body lotion soaks in well leaving skin feeling nourished and moisturised. I’m not keen on the smell though, which is somewhat floral but also smells a little bit like baby wipes. Maybe this is one I’ll use on my legs only so I can’t smell it during the day.

Perricone MD Face Finishing Moisturiser Tint – I am beyond obsessed with this product and it’s definitely in my top 3 of sample products I’ve tried over the past few months. It is beautifully moisturising and gives your skin an amazing golden glow. I was wary that it might leave me looking a bit orange/fake tanned but it really doesn’t. It made me look healthy and lightly tanned; it made my skin feel really rejuvenated; and it has SPF30 which is always a good thing from a face moisturiser. The downside is that it comes with a hefty price tag but you really don’t need much so a full-size pot would last a really long time (I’ve been using the half-size, sample pot for a few weeks and have barely made a dent).

Nuxe Precious Scented Shower Oil – whilst I liked that this made my skin feel soft and left a very light golden shimmer, I’d rather take a shower using products that will leave me feeling clean. You know, as in shower gel or soap. And then use a moisturiser or oil after my shower. So, although this isn’t a product I disliked, it just doesn’t really fit with my preferred routine.

Love Me Beauty – July

In July’s bag, I chose two full-size Nails Inc Gel Effect nail polishes (in Seven Dials and Spring Gardens). I have already written about these in my Summer Nails post though – click here to read more – so I won’t review them again in this post. Love me beauty, sampling beauty, beauty samples, beauty review, nails inc, nuxeNuxe Reve de Miel Face Cleaning and Make-up Removing Gel – this has the light, honey smell that the other Reve de Miel products have and although it’s a gel, it has the same colour and transparency of Pears glycerin soap. It says to work into a lather, but I could not get it into a lather at all. From a make-up removing point, it’s not ideal for me as I only wear blusher, mascara and sometimes pencil eye liner, and it was only as helpful at removing mascara as a good splash of water is. From a face cleaning point, it did make my skin feel clean but it also made my face feel tight and dried out so a good moisturiser is needed afterwards.

Feel Unique

With my recent holiday and house/job move, I didn’t get a chance to order some Feel Unique samples in June or July and they don’t have the same pick ‘n’ mix samples offer on the Dutch version of the site.

I definitely recommend the pick ‘n’ mix samples from Feel Unique though and I’ve had a really interesting and enlightening few months trying brands I’d never before tried (and sometimes that I’d never even heard of).

Have you tried any of these brand or products before? Let me know your thoughts and if there are any products from these companies that you’d really recommend.

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

One thought on “Sampling Beauty #5

  1. Pingback: Sampling Beauty: round-up | Amii @ Thirty

Leave a Reply

