Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Sampling Beauty #4

1 Comment

There’s been a bit of a gap since my last Sampling Beauty post. For various reasons, including a holiday, an international house move, a new job and basically just not having the time or energy to even think about adding new products into my beauty and skincare regime.

Because of this, these picks were actually my May/June selections! Here’s what I got from Love Me Beauty and Feel Unique:

Love Me Beauty

  • Aromatherapy Associates Hydrating Rose Skin Tonic
  • Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Or
  • Manna Kadar Lip Locked Stain in Sienna
  • Aromatherapy Associates De-stress Muscle Gel

love me beauty, beauty subscription, beauty bag, aromatherapy associates, manna kadar, nuxeFeel Unique

  • Caudalie Moisture Recovery Cream
  • Dermalogica Soothing Eye Make-up Remover
  • by Terry Cellularose Brightening CC Serum
  • Matis Repairing Eye Cream
  • Sampar 3 Day Weekend ‘Golden Glow’

feel unique, beauty samples, beauty products, dermalogica, by terry, caudalie, sampar, mates eye creamReview:

Manna Kadar Lip Locked Stain – I’m much more of a lip gloss girl than a lipstick one and I absolutely love the shade (Sienna) of this Manna Kadar Lip Locked Stain. I found this gloss stays on well on a night out, it isn’t too sticky and it doesn’t dry out my lips. The small sample size also makes it so perfect to fit into a small clutch or even a purse.

Matis Repairing Eye Cream – I said above that I’ve been busy and my goodness was my chaotic life starting to show on my face! This eye cream has been wonderful though. You don’t need much as it’s quite thick but I like that because I use it at night giving it time to soak in and really make a difference; I can see a noticeable change and that was definitely needed.

Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse – I had selected the shower oil but was sent the multipurpose dry oil which I’ve reviewed before and really didn’t like so wasn’t too pleased on this. I did email Love Me Beauty and they gave me some extra credits to use the following month, but it was a token gesture as I do believe that companies should be pro-active in letting customers know if a product is out of stock and will be substituted.

Aromatherapy Associates De-stress muscle gel – Now, I’m always dubious about these types of products as I’m a firm believer in Tiger balm or Deep Heat to help relieve muscle aches and pains (along with stretching and rest, of course). I used this muscle gel a few times to ease normal achey muscles as well as tried it on a slight calf muscle strain and found it to do absolutely nothing. It smells incredible – rosemary, lavender, black pepper and ginger – but it just had no noticeable effect on my muscles at all. Maybe a full-body massage with it would be lovely instead – although as it’s a gel, not an oil, it dries/absorbs pretty quickly.

Caudalie Moisture Recovery Cream – another product that really helped my skin to recover after the stress of the past month. I’m a big fan of Caudalie products and this one really did re-hydrate my skin and make my face look brighter again.

Sampar 3 Day Weekend – had to Google what this one was for as I just didn’t know. The blurb on the Sampar website says it’s a “moisturising face care with amazing tan activator and extender properties”. So a face cream, right? We haven’t had much sun for me to have a tan to ‘activate and extend’ so whilst I can say it’s pleasantly moisturising, I can’t attest to its other claims.

by Terry CC Serum – this has a little sample of 4 different skin tone colours which you can use alone or mixed. My complexion is somewhere between 2 – Rose Elixir and 3 – Apricot Glow so having all four to try is nice as I was able to try different combinations. This CC serum brightens your face and gives a nice even tone to your skin and it is nice – until I saw the cost!

Aromatherapy Associates Hydrating Rose Skin Tonic – I don’t usually like toners as they make my skin feel tight and I don’t really understand what their purpose is. This hydrating tonic from Aromatherapy Associates definitely is hydrating – no tight face feeling – but it has a weird smell…a little bit like traditional soap mixed with florals.

Dermalogica Soothing Eye Make-up Remover – I can’t judge how useful this would be on a full face of make-up but it took my waterproof mascara off and didn’t sting my eyes so from those features, I’d say this does the trick.

I’m really pleased with some of the products from this selection. The Manna Kadar Lip Locked Stain is great and the Caudalie Moisture Recovery Cream and Matis Repairing Eye Cream have been a welcome and successful fix for my skin. 

Have you tried any of these? Or any other products from these brands? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below or on social media – I can be found on Twitter and Instagram: @amiilau

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

One thought on “Sampling Beauty #4

  1. Pingback: Sunday Round Up #23 | Laidig's Broadway

Leave a Reply

