Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

My top 5 UncommonGoods buys under £25

Leave a comment

It’s a known fact that the only shopping I like to do is online and is either for my house or for gifts for my family/friends. I can spend hours and hours browsing for cute things for my home and I love finding unique, quirky gifts that are a bit different from the usual high street purchases. So, when the team at UncommonGoods.com got in touch and asked me to write about some of my fave items from their lovely website, I absolutely said yes!

A US-based site but happy to ship internationally, UncommonGoods is such a perfect go-to for me right now – I’m moving house so always on the lookout for gorgeous new items and through August and September I have a number of anniversaries, birthdays and other celebrations that I need to get myself organised for. In particular, the site has had me totally engrossed in looking for a perfect anniversary gift and I’m also obsessed with personalised presents and am already searching the site for a beautiful personalised wedding gift for a friend who gets married in September.

I really like this one for something personal, subtle and beautifully hand-crafted:uncommongoods, heart wall hanging, anniversary, wedding, couple, gift

I also struggle every year to settle on a good birthday present for my dad but UncommonGoods has loads of great gift ideas for men so I’m sure this September I’ll be sorted with something he’ll love.

UncommonGoods was founded as a way to bring amazing designs and beautiful hand-crafted items from talented artisans to a wider audience than they were able to reach through local craft fairs. From an item page, it’s really easy to find out more about the maker which I think is really lovely and it’s definitely the story behind a product which makes it so much more special.

The site also sets out a strong environmental and sustainability mission and is focused on being socially responsible and supporting artisans around the world who believe in and work to these same values.

Often, people can be reluctant to buy uniquely-designed, hand-made, hand-crafted items because they assume the price will be so much higher than buying mass-produced, off-the-shelf products. This is definitely not true and I love a quality product that won’t break the bank so I’ve chosen my top five buys costing less than £25 from UncommonGoods.com: uncommongoods, avocado hugger, avocado toast, kitchenware, food saverAvocado Huggers (set of 2), created by Michelle Ivanovic & Adrienne McNicholas – £6.06

If these do what they claim to then this may be the best invention since sliced bread! I eat more than my fair share of avocados and always feel obliged to eat a whole one to stop the other half getting brown and stringy so a hugger would be the ideal solution.uncommongoods, heart snack bowl, pottery, handmade, kitchenwareHeart Snack Bowl, created by Tony Holman – £21.34

Beautiful serving dishes always catch my eye and this gorgeous snack bowl is both practical and pretty. I love the colouring of this bowl and would much prefer to eat popcorn out of this than from a foil bag. uncommongoods, kids quote book, children say the funniest things, mom blogKid Quotes Memory Book, created by Amy Taylor – £22.86

I wish I’d seen this when my (now 5 year old) nephew started to speak – we were (and still are, to be honest) always in hysterics at the things he says. Kids say the craziest things and to be able to capture that and look back down the years is just a wonderful idea. uncommongoods, recycled denim clutch, handbag, ethical fashionRecycled Denim Clutch, created by artisans in Cambodia – £21.34

Not only is this clutch absolutely stunning but the story behind it is pretty amazing too. Made from the would-be waste of the fast fashion industry, these lovely creations allow artisans to be fairly employed whilst making sustainable, ethical designs. uncommongoods, taco, hot sauce, earrings, handmade, fashionTaco & Hot Sauce Mismatched Earrings, created by Christine Schmidt – £15.24

I’m not a big jewellery-wearer, but I just adore these mismatched earrings. They’re so cute and playful and Christine’s other designs are just as brilliant – the unicorn and rainbow mismatched earrings and the stamp kits are too adorable for words.

Whilst this post is sponsored by UncommonGoods.com, I was asked only to write about my views and share a few chosen links with you all. The products I’ve selected in my top five guide are based on my own tastes and opinions and are items I would absolutely consider buying for myself or as gifts for my loved ones.

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

Leave a Reply

