Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Sampling Beauty #3

3 Comments

After the disaster with some of last month‘s beauty samples, I took a while before I started testing out the current batch as my skin felt like it needed a break to recover!Love Me Beauty, beauty subscription box, beauty products, beauty review, dr bragi, amie, weleda, kat von dI  chose a lot of face products from both Feel Unique and Love Me Beauty this month as I’m really keen to find something which keeps me looking as fresh-faced as possible now that I’m heading deeper into my 30s.

I’ve always had good skin but have noticed that, on my face, it’s starting to look more aged (hello creases!) and it’s not always as soft or healthy-looking as it used to be.

Here’s the run-down of what I tried this month:

Feel Unique

  • Algenist Algae Brightening Mask
  • Guinot Creme Bioxygene face cream
  • Clarins Hydra-Essentiel Cooling Gel
  • Kiehls Ultimate Strength Hand Salve
  • Burberry Brit Rhythm

feel unique, beauty samples, beauty products, beauty review, kiehls, clarins, burberry, algenistLove Me Beauty

  • Amie matte-finish moisturiser & purifying facial wash
  • Weleda age revitalising concentrate
  • Dr Bragi Intensive Treatment Mask
  • Merumaya Melting Cleansing Balm
  • Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

Review:

Algenist Algae Brightening Mask

This brightening mask from Algenist promises “dramatic results! Visibly brightens skin and improves uneven skin texture”.

I love it when a product does what it’s supposed to and this definitely smoothed my skin and made it feel and look brighter. The results lasted a good couple of days as well.

It’s a clay-feel mask with a fairly non-descript smell (if I had to pin it to something, I’d say seaweed) but when it dried, it didn’t make my face feel super tight like most clay masks do. It was really nourishing whilst on and the results were very noticeable.

I’d love to use this more regularly but at £45 for a 60ml pot, I’m just not sure I can bring myself to shell out that much on one product right now!

Guinot Creme Bioxygene face cream

This face cream was so light – almost like water – and instantly hydrating. I really liked this product and just a shame the sample size was so small – I actually cut the tube open so I could get at every little bit of this!

This is another pricey item (maybe not for most people, but I usually use a £1 body lotion!) but I would really consider buying this as it made my skin feel refreshed and moisturised.

Kiehls Ultimate Strength Hand Salve

This hand salve has quite a clinical smell but it doesn’t last long. The salve is thick but rubs in easily and doesn’t leave your hands feeling greasy or sticky. I do like this product but I’ve found so many good hand creams/salves/lotions that I’m just as happy with so I probably wouldn’t buy a full-size of this one.

Clarins Hydra-Essentiel Cooling Gel

I’ll be honest in that I just don’t understand the purpose of this product. It looks and feels like a thick gel (it’s bright blue) and I’ve used it as a moisturiser but just haven’t noticed any effect whatsoever.

I’ve had a look on the Clarins website and the product is marketed as a ‘fresh, non-greasy gel cream’ that ‘restores the skin’s radiance and comfort’, leaving the skin ‘intensely hydrated, radiant and shine-free’. Sorry, haven’t noticed any of those things so I’ll be giving this one a miss.

Burberry Brit Rhythm

I don’t dislike this fragrance but I also don’t find it anything to shout home about. It says ‘floral’ on the packaging but I wouldn’t describe it as floral. I’m not sure it would be a good day-time perfume as I found it to have quite a musky, dark smell. It isn’t unpleasant at all though so please do give this one a try.

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

So I only ever use eyeliner on my lower lashes, which means a liquid liner isn’t ideal for me. I did Google whether liquid liner could be used on lower lashes but search results produce some interesting looks which I just don’t think I’m brave enough to try out!

Merumaya Melting Cleansing Balm

Whilst I liked this product, I feel it would be a redundant part of my beauty regime as I don’t wear very much make up (only blush, eyeliner, mascara) and this cleansing balm is aimed at emulsifying and removing make up. Initially you massage it onto your dry face and then add a bit of water and continue to massage, turning it into a milk, and then wash it off.

I can say that it removed waterproof mascara well but it also made my eyes really sting. I think if you wear foundation etc, then this would be a great cleansing product to use. It warms a little on the skin which was really nice – unless that was just my sensitive skin reacting to it…..I did look a little red and puffy afterwards but I attributed that to my terrible hayfever!

Amie matte-finish moisturiser & purifying facial wash

I really like this moisturiser but I’m not as keen on the facial wash. The wash is a cream and it just felt as if I was putting a moisturiser on and then washing it straight back off again. It just didn’t seem to have any effect.

The matte-finish moisturiser is really lovely though. Light and non-greasy, I used it morning and night for a few weeks and I definitely noticed a difference to my skin. I think my face looked brighter and more even and my skin was so so soft.

The Amie products use gentle, natural formulas and are aimed at keeping your skin balanced. Another plus point is that a 100ml tube of the matte-finish moisturiser retails at just £4.95 which is excellent value.

Weleda age revitalising concentrate

The first thing I found out about this product is that it’s very runny! I had to be so careful every time I used this not to open the floodgates and to only get a small amount out. A small amount is all that’s needed because it’s so watery and therefore goes on and provides full coverage easily.

This product smells like margaritas – you know, that slightly salty, slightly sour/citrus smell. It’s honestly the closest thing I can link this smell to and although a little strange at first, I actually grew to like it and it’s not a smell that lingers anyway.

I used this in the evenings, after taking my make-up off and before using the Amie matte-finish moisturiser. I honestly think my skin is looking noticeably brighter and with a more even tone at the moment and I’d like to believe it’s down to using these products daily for a couple of weeks (there was enough product in the little sample tube for nearly 3 weeks’ worth of use).

Dr Bragi Intensive Treatment Mask

I’m still not convinced by sheet masks and this one hasn’t encouraged me to persevere and try others. It didn’t stay on my face very well at all. Also the residue it left on my fingers when trying to smooth it down felt chalky and sticky which was strange. And, about 9 minutes in to a 15 minute treatment, it started dripping off the ‘chin’ and down my front – which I wasn’t expecting and meant a fresh t-shirt I’d put on now needs to go straight to the laundry pile.

I didn’t notice any difference in my skin afterwards so wouldn’t recommend this or any other sheet masks I’ve tried. Back to traditional masks for me.

This month saw a decent mix of products I liked and would buy, I liked but wouldn’t spend so much on, and ones I didn’t like. I will definitely be buying the Amie matte-finish moisturiser. Have you tried any of these products before? What are your thoughts on them?

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

3 thoughts on “Sampling Beauty #3

  1. Is the cooling gel similar to belief’s Aqua Bomb? xx, Britta & Carli from http://twinspiration.co/

    Like

    • I haven’t used Aqua Bomb but had a quick look on the Sephora website and it looks and sounds very similar x

      Like

  2. Pingback: Sampling Beauty #4 | Amii @ Thirty

Leave a Reply

