Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

An evening of desserts for Pirlo’s 1st birthday

Leave a comment

Non-blog life has been a little consuming and stressful over the past few weeks so I apologise for not popping up here to post very often. I should be able to share a bit more about what’s been going on in some future posts but for now, I was thoroughly relieved to get an opportunity to get out of the flat for a fun evening last week to go and eat my bodyweight in desserts!

Pirlo’s Dessert Lounge in Digbeth has been open a year and to celebrate its first birthday, I attended a tasting event with some other Birmingham-based bloggers, in conjunction with the fabulous team from Delicious PR.

Pirlo’s can be found on Coventry Street, just behind the Moor Street/Selfridge’s car park.pirlos dessert lounge, birmingham, desserts, cocktailsThere’s been a noticeable trend in dessert bars opening in Birmingham over the past 12-18 months and whenever I’ve passed one or been into one, they always seem busy, but the standards can be pretty mixed.

Before last week, I hadn’t been to Pirlo’s and was pleasantly surprised by the smart decor, comfortable booth seating and polite, helpful staff.pirlos, dessert lounge, desserts, sweet, digbethHere’s a look at the desserts I tried:

pirlos, desserts, birmingham, sundae, ice cream, oreoPirlo’s Monster Sundae tropical, strawberries, pirlos dessert lounge, ice cream, sundaeTropical Fruit Twist Sundae & Neopolitan Sundae
pirlos dessert lounge, waffle, chocolate, strawberry, oreo, nutsPirlo’s Big Waffle
pirlos dessert lounge, cake, red velvetWhite Chocolate & Raspberry Cake pirlos dessert lounge, crepe, oreo, m & m's, chocolate, gelatoChoc ‘o’ Holic crepe
pirlos dessert lounge, birmingham, chocolate, fondue, fruit, brownieFonduecrepe, pirlos dessert lounge, birmingham, fruit, strawberryThe Wild One crepe pirlos dessert lounge, waffle, crepe, cheesecake, oreo, chocolate, strawberryTaster plate – waffle, crepe and Oreo cheescake

Like I said, I ate my bodyweight in dessert!

Thoughts?

The waffles and sundaes were excellent and I’d definitely be back for any of those – loads of delicious gelato, fruit bits, nuts, chocolate and more.

I didn’t love the cake but that’s mainly because, when faced with so many sweet, chocolatey, fruity, nutty desserts, I’d just rather have those than cake! I also wasn’t so keen on the Oreo cheesecake but I’m not a fan of Oreos anyway so it wouldn’t be something I’d ever choose for myself.

The chocolate fondue was tasty and I liked the mix of fruit, brownie pieces and the pot of chopped nuts but I did think there were too many bits for the amount of melted chocolate, or not enough melted chocolate for the amount of bits!

The crepes were delicious – I’m a big fan of M&Ms and they gave a really good crunch to what might otherwise be a bit too mushy and soft with the fluffy crepes, gelato and chocolate sauces.

All in all, I’d happily recommend Pirlo’s for anyone looking for a dessert place with a nice atmosphere and smart surroundings. Prices seem really reasonable for the portion size and the menu is pretty comprehensive (yes, there are even more dishes than those I tried!) with gluten free and vegan options too.

Happy 1st Birthday Pirlo’s! Here’s to many more sugar-filled years!

(Disclaimer: this was a complimentary event for local bloggers – all views are, however, my own)
Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

Leave a Reply

