Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

My favourite cafés in Birmingham

Leave a comment

The food and drink scene in Birmingham really is outstanding. From restaurants and bars to coffee shops and street food vendors, Birmingham has so much to offer no matter what your tastes.

In particular, Birmingham has no end of highly-rated and recommended cafés, with an ever-emerging number of independents keen to provide great coffee, cakes and more in comfortable surroundings. Today, I’m sharing my favourites with you.

Kitchen Garden Café

Kitchen Garden Café describes itself as a ‘tranquil oasis’ and I definitely agree. Set back from a Kings Heath side street and tucked behind the gate and through the garden, I love this café. It’s warm, cosy and welcoming, and the food served here is excellent – from a great all day breakfast, delicious burgers, freshly-made sandwiches, toasties and hearty jackets, to superb Sunday roasts.

kitchen garden cafe, kings heath, birmingham, cafe, garden, deli, garden shop

I also love that Kitchen Garden Café always has a full events programme packed with music, comedy, poetry, storytelling and more.

As if that wasn’t enough, there is also a garden shop, stocking seeds, plants and accessories and offering expert advice on organic gardening, and a deli shop, full of locally-sourced, organic, and fair-trade produce.

kitchen garden cafe, birmingham, kings heath, cafe, deli shop, garden

My favourite thing about Kitchen Garden Café is…the setting – it’s so unexpected and completely lovely.

Urban

Urban have been a fixture on the Birmingham café and coffee scene for more than 7 years now and despite the growing number of competitors, they’ve remained a popular, go-to option for so many people. From suited businessmen and women on a weekday to groups of friends meeting for bottomless brunch at the weekends, the Urban emporiums at Church Street and in the Jewellery Quarter tick the box for a complete variety of customers.

coffee, urban, church street, birmingham, cafe, brunch

Urban really know coffee; they employ enthusiastic and passionate staff and train and support them well. I think this shows through the service and through the coffee.

coffee, cafe, urban coffee, birmingham

Although I’ve written before about Urban’s pop-up events, I still haven’t made it to the current evening residency hosted by Michelin-quality chef Ben Tesh at Urban Church Street. Every review and photo I’ve seen gives me serious food envy though so I can’t wait to try it for myself!

My favourite thing about Urban is…the coffee – it’s made by people who care and who know good coffee and that makes a huge difference.

Maison Mayci

When I moved back to Birmingham nearly 7 years ago, I lived in Moseley and was beyond delighted to see Maison Mayci, a lovely little French pâtisserie and café.

Maison Mayci is a cute little café (with a nice garden), ideal for breakfast or a light lunch and perfect for a quick coffee and pastry stop. Their pastries are divine – I love almond croissants and the ones from Maison Mayci are right up there with the very best. Their pastry counter rivals any that you’d see in France and they also make great home-made breads.

My favourite thing about Maison Mayci is…their pastries – finding really great, freshly-made pâtisseries outside of France will always put a big smile on my face.

Cherry Reds

When Cherry Reds opened their city centre café-bar, it quickly became one of my most frequently-visited places. Their breakfast options are unbeatable and I’ve never eaten anything from their menu (breakfast, lunch or dinner) which I didn’t think was amazing and more than value for money. Where else can you get a quality sausage sandwich on thick cut white bread for £2.50 or a chicken fillet burger with sides for £7.50?

cherry reds, cafe, bar, birmingham

I love the eclectic mishmash of furniture at Cherry Reds; it’s so cosy that it feels as though you’ve walked into someone’s lounge. There are also board games and books to be found so it really does feel like a home away from home. The staff are always really friendly and the bar prices are so much more reasonable than most city-centre venues (£18 for a bottle of process – yes, please!) so I find it easy to while away the hours here.

My favourite thing about Cherry Reds is…the value for money – both food and drink are truly excellent.

Please do let me know your thoughts on my favourite Birmingham cafés and feel free to comment and recommend your favourites too.

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

Leave a Reply

