Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Post-graduate choices

Leave a comment

I knew that after I finished my degree I wanted to go back into full-time employment. From the day my last assignment was handed in, I had two jobs – one at a utilities company working in customer services on Wednesdays and Thursdays and one as an intern for a branding and creative agency on Mondays, Tuesdays and Fridays. I had been working both of these jobs part-time whilst finishing my university course but I was grateful to be able to increase my hours once I was done with my studies. A couple of months later and I found the job I’m doing now.

It’s not easy finding employment after university but there’s a lot you can do to help yourself out. Opportunities can come from anywhere and perseverance and a positive attitude is key. It is of course disheartening if you are applying for loads of vacancies and not hearing anything back at all but you have to find a way to stay upbeat and just keep trying. If you give up then you won’t find anything, it’s as simple as that.

As a side, managers/HR/recruiters take note, I really don’t believe there is a valid excuse for not replying to applicants. It’s really crap of you to not respond at all to those who have taken the time to apply for the job. I recruited for a role earlier this year and replied individually to each applicant – yes it takes time but, you know what, it’s the decent and polite thing to do! Rant over.

Post-uni, my friends have gone on to various different ventures. Some took up employment, some set up their own businesses, some have gone on to further study and some have taken time out and gone travelling. I asked Ruth, who has set up as self-employed, and Kurtis, who is on a graduate scheme with Royal Mail, to share their post-graduate experiences with us, so here goes….

Name: Ruth Lawton

Degree course (year of graduation): BSc Sports Therapy (2015)

Current job title & employer: Self-employed Sports & Massage Therapist

Main duties/responsibilities: to provide sports massage, injury rehabilitation and joint assessments, to ensure clients are booked in and receive an appointment reminder, to make sure the clinic is tidy and clean, to make sure clients receive the best treatment and experience when visiting the clinic.

Do the knowledge & skills gained from you degree help you in your job?

Yes, without the skills and knowledge from my degree I would not be able to do my job at all. Everything I learnt, I use daily to help people get better and live their lives pain-free.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

Knowing that every day I am making a difference to people’s lives and helping them to gain a better quality of life both physically and mentally. I also like that I get to interact with lots of different people.

What do you find most challenging about your job?

Trying to get clients to understand that it will often take more than one session for them to feel the full benefits of treatment, especially when it’s a longterm injury that I’m treating. Also managing clients’ expectations when they need further investigations which I’m not able to do or don’t have the equipment to carry out.

What are your career goals?

I would like to expand my business and have a team of people working for/with me in my own clinic. This would allow us to treat more people and see more clients every day. Also, I would like to work in professional sport – at the moment I work for an amateur rugby team and really enjoy the experience.

For more info about Ruth’s sports therapy clinics, check out her Facebook page.

Name: Kurtis Lipman

Degree course (year of graduation): BA Sports Management (2015)

Current job title & employer: Graduate Operations Manager, Royal Mail

Main duties/responsibilities: to manage and improve the process of front line operations, to manage staff effectively to build good relationships and improve output, to look for opportunities for growth and development for the organisation, to develop personal managerial skills.

Do the knowledge & skills gained from you degree help you in your job?

The strategic modules from my course come into practice most days, however most of the skills I use at work were developed outside of the lecture hall and come more from how I managed my work and life outside of my classes.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

Working with people and helping to improve the work environment. I also like that I’ve been able to spot areas for development, implement new processes and see the success from that.

What do you find most challenging about your job?

Like many established organisations, Royal Mail has an ageing workforce with many of them having worked in their roles for 20+ years. This creates an environment which isn’t always receptive to change.

What are your career goals?

At Royal Mail, I’m aiming to be in a role which looks to improve efficiency across the whole business through strategy. However, if I finish on the graduate scheme and move away from Royal Mail, I would be keen to stay in management and am looking to start my own business offering business consultancy services for SMEs.

To connect with Kurtis on LinkedIn, click here.

 

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

Leave a Reply

