Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

A great life lesson

Leave a comment

52 weeks ago I wrote my first blog post as a UCBlogger. I hadn’t started my final year at university, I hadn’t thought too much about my future career path (except that, ideally, I’d like to go into marketing) and I certainly hadn’t dared to dream that 52 weeks later I’d have been awarded a First Class degree, have started my perfect job and be just a few weeks away from the most incredible volunteer opportunity I’ll ever get.

I have thoroughly enjoyed being one of the first UCBloggers. It’s a great opportunity for students at University College Birmingham and I hope the incoming bloggers get as much out of it as I have.

Knowing that people from nearly 60 different countries have read my blog over the past year is truly astounding. I hope many of those are current or prospective UCB students who have learned something about the uni and what student life in Birmingham is like. FYI, it’s great and I have loved every second of it.

Screen Shot 2015-07-30 at 18.30.26

I hadn’t blogged much before I started ‘Amii at UCB’ and I feel as if I’ve gained so much from the experience.

Here are four important things I’ve learnt about blogging:

  1. Plan your topics – I’ve used a spreadsheet with the week commencing date of all 52 weeks on. Then, when I think of topics or ideas I add them to a week on the spreadsheet. I find it really difficult when I’m busy and tired and facing a blank blog post to try and figure out what I want to write about. Each of my blog posts also has a theme and I’ve tried to make sure I’m not repeating a theme in consecutive weeks.
  2. Take lots of photos – I don’t like using stock images and would much rather use photos I’ve taken. Sometimes I get so caught up in what I’m doing and where I am though that I forget that the blog would benefit from me taking some photos.
  3. Phone a friend – don’t take this too literally but I mean that calling on friends can be a really big help. I’ve loved the interviews I’ve done with fellow UCB students about their experiences. Everyone sees the same situation differently and I really value the thoughts and opinions of others.
  4. Enjoy it – yes, some weeks it has felt like a bit of a chore, when I’ve got work and uni assignments and I’m trying to sleep, eat and have a social life as well. But, really, the whole experience has been amazing. It’s been a lot of fun and it definitely added to the incredible final year at uni that I’ve had.

So, all that’s left to say is thank you to everyone who has supported me by contributing to or reading my blog. It’s been a brilliant experience for me and I will miss sharing my ramblings and thoughts with you all. I can always be found over on Twitter @amiilau if you’d like to keep in touch with me and my little world.

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

Leave a Reply

