Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Learning, Working, Looking to the future

Leave a comment

When people think of internships, they often think of endless hours of photocopying or making countless cups of tea or coffee for no pay. Having started an internship in April, I am pleased to note that there are definitely employers out there who are breaking the mould to provide paid, useful internships.

630796_13928395(image source)

I am absolutely loving the work I get to do.

I am a Strategy and Copywriting Intern for ORB Creative, working in a paid, 6-month, part-time role. ORB were flexible with the days I work which allowed me to start before I’d even finished uni and also gives me a pretty great job for the summer.

Throughout my degree, I’d come to realise that marketing is the career path for me, and the opportunity with ORB to focus on branding and strategy fits with my longer-term job goals. I’m also very strategically minded (probably why I loved the Strategic Management module so much this year) and have gained writing experience over the past year as a UCBlogger, writing this very blog. This internship, therefore, couldn’t have come along at a better time and couldn’t be more perfect for me (thankfully ORB felt the same and offered me the job!).

In my role, I get to carry out various bits of research for our clients, come up with creative ideas for brand launches and employee engagement activities, write copy for websites and marketing materials, and support the team of Strategists with whatever projects they need me for. In my first 2 months, I’ve worked with clients I already know, ones I don’t, local public sector clients and big, well-known private sector clients. I have learnt loads, I love being creative and I go home feeling inspired. The range of work I’ve been entrusted with is interesting and will only serve to develop my skills in this industry.

Here are my top tips for undertaking an internship:

  • Use it to help you decide if it’s the right industry or career path for you. Without having to fully commit to an industry or company, an internship allows you time to experience the working world and figure out if the type of work and environment is right for you.
  • If you can afford to do an unpaid internship then you’re luckier than most. If you can’t afford to work unpaid, then keep looking – there are employers out there who value interns enough to pay them for the work they’ll do.
  • Build a good relationship with your line manager and with others in your team and the business. You never know what opportunities will come your way if you make the most of your time and show your enthusiasm and commitment.
  • Work hard – cliché time but you only get out what you put in. Work hard, take what you can from the opportunity, learn from the incredible, experienced people around you and value the time you get to spend in the role for all it may bring to your future.
Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

Leave a Reply

