Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Four weeks to go…

Leave a comment

…and then life, as I’ve known it for the past three years, will suddenly be very different.

Why, you ask? Because on the 8th May, I have two assignment deadlines, my final lecture, and my last ever assessed seminar.

Although I will officially still be a student, I’ll have no responsibilities left after the 8th towards completing my degree at UCB. I will be finished. Three years of really hard work will come to an end. I will breathe the biggest sigh of relief, and probably shed a few exhausted tears.

Four weeks is still a long time though when I consider what I have to achieve and what else is in the diary for that time. The dissertation deadline on 22nd April is creeping ever nearer. And I have a bunch of important work and personal events too.

Here are five things I’m going to do to get myself through the next four weeks:

  • Use my diary – With so much going on and so much bubbling around my head, I need to know that I’m not going to miss or forget anything important.
  • Set my own deadlines – Leaving things to the last minute isn’t an option when there’s so much to be done in such a short time, so setting my own deadlines ahead of uni deadlines means I’ll always have a buffer in case extra things pop up or I get delayed for any reason.
  • Work hard – If I stop working as hard as I have been because the end is in sight, then everything I’ve done over the last three years will be for nothing and I’m not prepared to let that happen.
  • Take time for myself – I still need breaks and I need to make sure I’m still eating and sleeping well, otherwise no doubt I’ll get ill and then I wont be in any fit state to get everything else done.
  • Be excited – I have almost finished my degree course. The outcome of that hasn’t sunk in because I’ve been so consumed with actually getting it finished. But now is the time to start reflecting and, more importantly, start looking forward to what comes next and what opportunities will present themselves now that I’ll be a graduate!
Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

Leave a Reply

