Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Summer Days

Leave a comment

It’s a definite bonus to being a student that we get a very long Summer holiday – nearly four months long. You’ll never have this much time off once you start full-time work (or if you do, please let me know what profession you’re in), so I think it’s important to make the most of it.

After my first year at UCB, I worked my part-time waitressing job for the first few months and then took off to New Zealand and Australia, via Malaysia, for six weeks. I worked extra hours at my job to save money and then went on my trip of a lifetime. I’ve always wanted to travel to that part of the world and it didn’t disappoint. I had the most amazing time travelling through New Zealand, met lots of great people, and had so much fun. I caught up with old friends in Australia and went on a few mini-adventures, ticking off a number of places on my dream travel list.

all ipad 691
(meeting wallabies at Australia Zoo)

all ipad 362(hiking on the Franz Josef Glacier)

Last summer, I worked two part-time jobs and took a few smaller holidays and breaks. My big brother got married, which was so exciting for our whole family, and I was a bridesmaid. Also, for the first time in years, I went on a family holiday with my parents, brother, sister-in-law, nephew, and my boyfriend. It was so great to spend time with everyone – we don’t live in the same area so don’t get to see each other too often or for very long.

photo

(as a bridesmaid at my brother’s wedding)

This summer, I am due to start a six-month internship, which I’m very much looking forward to. It’s the perfect role for me and fits with my career aspirations and post-uni plans, so I can’t wait to get started. That will take me to the autumn and the start of the Rugby World Cup – I have a volunteer role at Twickenham during the tournament – so the next few months are shaping up to be incredible.

Whether you want to travel, work, spend time with family and friends, or do as little as possible, do it for yourself and have no regrets. Four-month long holidays are very rare to come by after student life ends, so just make the most of it and have a great time.

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

Leave a Reply

