Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Volunteering

2 Comments

Over the last 10 years I have volunteered my time to rugby in various capacities and I’d like to let you know a bit about what I’ve done, why I love it so much and what I gain from it. The merits of being a volunteer are ten-fold, whether its for a sports club or for any other cause. Volunteers are needed all over our towns and cities in many different industries and environments. Giving up even just one hour of your week to be a volunteer can be so worthwhile both personally and for the community you’re working in.

2005 – 2010

  • I qualified as a rugby coach in 2005 – this course was paid for through the University of Manchester Sports Volunteers Scheme
  • I assisted the Rugby Football Union (RFU) in the North West with planning and organising festivals and tournaments. I gained skills from tournament scheduling; booking referees, pitches and catering; contacting teams and arranging travel
  • I coached at Eccles RFC and gained experience coaching boys and girls of all ages and developed interpersonal skills, such as communication and planning
  • I was an assistant minis and junior secretary. I gained important work skills, such as taking minutes in meetings, attending regional conferences as a representative of the club and coordinating club events

2010 – 2015

  • I was a coach at Birmingham & Solihull RFC and achieved my next level coaching qualification (paid for by the club) and attended on-going Continued Professional Development (CPD) at the club and in the local area, allowing for progression
  • I worked with the RFU delivering curriculum PE in local schools, which was paid coaching work as a result of links made through my voluntary work
  • I attended workshops, seminars and conferences across the Midlands, which were brilliant opportunities for networking
  • I am a mini and junior fixtures secretary, which has improved key skills – such as scheduling, organising, and communication

Through rugby I have gained valuable skills and qualifications, not only to help with my coaching, but also for my professional life and career as well.

In return, I suppose that the kids I coach benefit from my passion and enthusiasm for the sport and that they gain confidence, discipline, and team-working skills under my support and guidance.

Volunteer coaches around the country help to ensure that there are huge opportunities for kids to take part in sport, to be active, to form friendships, to have fun, and to gain valuable skills for their own development.

If you can spare just a few hours of your week or month, then I really would recommend volunteering. It’s opened so many doors for me and enriches my life in so many amazing ways.

To find out more about volunteering in sports and in Birmingham, check out these pages (or just search online for opportunities in your area – there are tons):

SportEngland

Sport Birmingham

Centre for Voluntary Action

Birmingham Children’s Hospital

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

2 thoughts on “Volunteering

  1. Pingback: Give something back or pay it forward | Amii @ UCB

  2. Pingback: Give something back or pay it forward | Amii @ Thirty

Leave a Reply

