Amii @ Thirty

Lifestyle blog by a thirty-something city dweller

Sports Management – year 2

5 Comments

I’ve been writing a lot about student life in Birmingham and UCB in general, so thought it was time to go into a bit more detail about my course. This will be my second of three blog posts as I write about each year separately (I’m studying for a BA in Sports Management; a three-year programme providing a great mix of business and sport-based modules).

Year 2 of my course saw another mixed bunch of modules and also the opportunity to choose an option in semester 1. I chose Sports Nutrition for my optional module and was in a class with mainly Sports Therapy students as the module is delivered by that department. I really enjoyed getting to know students taking a different course and I would recommend this module for its interesting content as well.

Year 2

Modules: Human Resource Planning, Finance for Managers, Sports Planning, Applied Marketing Research, Operational Sports Management, Sports Nutrition, Research in Practice.

Course trip: Berlin – an incredible city, and I loved this trip for the things we learned during the activities we did – a tour round the Olympic Stadium, skating and tubing (sliding down a big slope of ice on a rubber tube) at a Christmas market, learning historical information and sightseeing on a cycle tour and swimming in an Olympic-size pool. I didn’t completely love the cycle tour, but only because I’m not very confident on a bike – especially not round the streets of a busy capital city! We also had time in the evenings to do our own thing and myself and a group of friends went back to visit a few monuments and areas which had taken our interest during the daytime activities.

1403402_10101003725144175_1762049697_o 1441374_10101005016436415_1034638973_n 740040_10101003727364725_1806925332_o

What I liked:

  • Getting to choose an optional module – there are around 10 different modules to choose from in the second year, so pick something which is of interest to you or which you feel you will benefit from when thinking about career choices.
  • Gaining research, analysis and writing skills from Research in Practice – the value of this module is proving to be so great now that I’ve started my dissertation.
  • Group project for Sports Nutrition – we had to design a nutritional product to fit the needs of a case study, which I found really interesting and fun.

What I didn’t like:

  • Group project for Applied Marketing Research – see my post from last week as to why this assignment brought me to tears!

Next week sees us off to Poland for our year 3 course trip. I can’t wait to tell you all about it when I get back!

Author: amiiat30

Graduate, Marketing Manager, sports lover, crochet queen

5 thoughts on “Sports Management – year 2

  1. Pingback: Always more decisions to make | Amii @ UCB

  2. Pingback: Sports Management – year 3 | Amii @ UCB

  3. Pingback: Sports Management – year 3 | Amii @ Thirty

  4. Pingback: Always more decisions to make | Amii @ Thirty

  5. Pingback: Poland – year 3 course trip | Amii @ Thirty

Leave a Reply

